Corona (COVID-19) Global Stats

Sadiq Sanjarani re-elected as Senate chairman, Yousuf Raza Gilani’s 7 votes rejected

ISLAMABAD ( reportbeat ) : Government candidate Sadiq Sanjrani defeated Yousuf Raza Gilani, joint candidate of Opposition Alliance PDM, and was re-elected as Chairman Senate.

From the upper house, 98 senators exercised their right to vote today, out of which seven votes were rejected. 

During the first half of the day’s session, the upper house swore in 48-newly elected senators. Senator Syed Muzafar Hussain Shah was nominated as the presiding officer by President Arif Alvi and was administered the oath.

The presiding officer had earlier announced that the polling process will go on till 5pm.

In terms of numerical strength, the opposition had a clear edge with 52 members, including one belonging to Jamaat-e-Islami on its side over the ruling coalition’s 47 members.

However, with the election for the two key slots through secret ballot, surprise results were already anticipated.

In an earlier surprise, Gillani defeated the government candidate Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh in the March 3 Senate elections.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.