Corona (COVID-19) Global Stats

PPP senator Yousaf Raza Gillani has been appointed as Opposition Leader in Senate.

ISLAMABAD (REPORTBEAT) – Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) senator Yousaf Raza Gillani on Friday has been appointed as Leader of the Opposition in Upper House of the Parliament, Senate. 

The notification issued by Senate Secretariat read, “In pursuance of Rule 16 (3) of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Senate 2012, the Chairman Senate has been pleased to declare Senator Syed Yousaf Raza Gillani as Leader of the Opposition in the Senate with effect from March 26, 2021.”

Earlier in the day, Yousaf Raza Gillani had submitted his nomination papers with the signatures of 30 senators which included 21 from PPP, two from Awami National Party (ANP), one from Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), two former members of Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) and four senators from Dilawar Khan’s independent group.

It is to be mentioned here that two main parties of Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM), PPP and Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), had nominated separate candidates for the post of opposition leader in Senate.

The PPP had selected Yousaf Raza Gillani as a nominee for opposition leader seat while PML-N had provided the name of Azam Nazeer Tarar.

Shahid Khaqan Abbasi told that the members of PDM had agreed to bring opposition leader from PML-N.

Let it be known that the members of upper house had elected the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) government-backed Sadiq Sanjarani and Muhammad Mirza Afridi as chairman and deputy chairman of Senate.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.