Corona (COVID-19) Global Stats

PML-N candidate Nosheen Iftikhar has won the by-election in NA-75 Daska.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Nosheen Iftikhar has won the by-election in NA-75 Daska.

According to unofficial and undeclared results, PML-N’s candidate Nosheen Iftikhar secured 111,220 votes, whereas PTI’s Ali Asjad Malhi obtained 92,019 votes.


The polling that started at 8am continued till 5 pm without any break. 360 polling stations were setup for the 4,94000 registered voters in the constituency. Out of which, 47 polling stations were declared sensitive by the ECP. 

The ECP had directed the authorities to install over 100 CCTV cameras at sensitive polling stations to monitor the situation on polling day.

To deal with any untoward situation, Rangers and Police were deployed in the constituency with Pakistan Army soldiers on standby.


Earlier today, the Election Commission issued show-cause notices to a Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) Member of Provincial Assembly (MPA) Zeeshan Rafiq and Special Assistant to Punjab Chief Minister on Information Firdous Ashiq Awan over the violation of election code of conduct during NA-75 Daska by-elections.

PTI workers stopped Zeeshan Rafiq when he arrived in the constituency and told him that he could not visit the constituency as he is a lawmaker.

Police officials who were stationed there for security directed Rafiq to leave the premises of the constituency.

ECP issued notice to the PML-N legislator for visiting the NA-75 constituency during voting process.

The commission also served a show cause notice to Special Assistant to Chief Minister on Information Firdous Ashiq Awan for holding a press conference in the NA-75 constituency and announcing development projects for the area.

ECP has directed her to submit response within two days hours.


The seat of NA-75 fell vacant after the demise of the PML-N parliamentarians Syed Iftikharul Hassan Shah on 2nd August, 2020.

The results of by-election held on 19th February were stopped due to violence, rigging and the disappearance of over 20 presiding officers.

On February 25th, the Election of Pakistan ruled that a re-polling will be held on 18th March 2021 in whole NA-75 constituency but on 16th March the ECP decided to extend the polling date.

On 2nd April, the Supreme Court rejected the PTI s appeal against the ECP’s order to conduct re-polling in the entire constituency of NA-75 Daska.

A three-judge Supreme Court bench headed by Justice Umar Ata Bandial had taken up an appeal filed by PTI candidate Ali Asjad Malhi challenging the ECP’s Feb 25 decision to order re-election in the entire constituency.

In the short order, Justice Bandial said the court had taken the decision in light of the law, the Constitution and its own jurisdiction. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.