Corona (COVID-19) Global Stats

Peshawar Zalmi set 141-run target for Lahore Qalandars in first PSL

Peshawar Zalmi have set a 141-run target for Lahore Qalandars to chase in their first match of this year’s Pakistan Super League (PSL) tournament at the National Stadium in Karachi on Sunday.

After being sent in to bat, Zalmi finished with a score of 140 at the loss of six wickets.

Imamul Haq and Kamran Akmal opened the innings for Zalmi. Imam was sent to the pavilion right after, getting caught out by Ben Dunk off Shaheen Shah Afridi’s first ball of the match.

Imam was replaced by Shoaib Malik. The Peshawar franchise lost their second wicket when Kamran tried to flick a boundary, only for it to land straight in the hands of the perfectly positioned fielder.

Haider, who replaced Kamran on the pitch, got out on his first ball as well, caught by Dunk off Salman Mirza’s ball.

Malik lost his wicket in the eighth over, caught out by Dunk.

Ravi Bopara (34 off 33) and Sherfane Rutherford (24 off 21) then stabilised their side’s innings, putting runs onto the scoreboard through to the 15th over.

Their partnership ended in the 17th over, however, with Rutherford getting caught by Agha Salman off Afridi’s bowling after having contributed 26 runs from 27 balls.

Earlier, Qalandars won the toss and elected to field first.

Afghanistan spin wizard Rashid Khan made his first appearance in the PSL for the Qalandars. Dilbar Hussain was replaced by Salman Mirza due to the former’s recurring hamstring injury.

Lahore Qalandars, arguably the most sought-after franchise, finally overcame the jinx last year of finishing at the bottom in each of the first four editions. They qualified for their play-offs for the first time and then even reached the final. However, they were defeated by Karachi Kings.


Lahore Qalandars: Sohail Akhtar (capt), Fakhar Zaman, Salman Agha, Mohammad Hafeez, Ben Dunk, Samit Patel, David Wiese, Rashid Khan, Ahmed Daniyal, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Salman Mirza.

Peshawar Zalmi: Kamran Akmal (wk), Imam Ul Haq, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Ravi Bopara, Sherfane Rutherford, Amad Butt, Wahab Riaz (capt), Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Saqib Mehmood, Mohammad Imran.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.